Where did the week go??

Argh! How has Thursday been and gone already without me noticing?? How did that even happen?

I Strongly suspect that it has something to do with spending every available waking moment that I’m not in work down at the allotment.

  

“Everything that the light touches will one day be yours.”

“And what about that dark place, over there?”

“That is the neighbouring plot GG, you must never go there!”

The plot 21 has become a construction site, with anything planted being too small to properly photograph.

Exhibit A:

  

Time to play spot the fruit bushes!

Let me tell you what you cannot see – this is the Back of my plot and now fondly known as ‘fruits corner’ (if you never lived near a pets corner as a kid then you’ll have no idea what I’m on about). Along the back I plan on eventually erecting a rabbit proof fence and to grow alongside it I’ve planted 6 canes each of Polka and Autumn Bliss Raspberries. I’m a huge fan of raspberries strait off the bush, but any that make it home will most likely end up in muffins, sorbets or smoothies.

In front of the Raspberries are two Redcurrent bushes, one is Rodova and the other Jonkeer Van Tetes (I hope I spelt those correctly!). And as these will produce more berries then I’m likely to want jelly from eventually I need to find some good Redcurrent recipes!

My second bushy fruit row is made up of three Gooseberries; I’ve craftily placed the thornless ‘Pax’ next to the path, followed by Hinnonmaki Yellow and finally Invicta by the fence. Gooseberry fool was a favourite of mine as a child and I fully intend on adding to my gooseberry repertoire. 

Lastly I’ve planted two Blackcurrant bushes: Ben Sarek and Ebony for that all important Blackcurrant jam and juice which I love! 

I spent a very long time carefully choosing which varieties I wanted and I feel that I’ve chosen the best ones for me. I had hoped to add strawberries this year, but the budget has been stretched rather thin and for now I need veg more; there will however defiantly be strawberries next year! (I’ve already picked which varieties!)

Aside from planting fruit bushes, I have been going to the plot after work to turn the turf and remove weeds before adding a sprinkling of compost to plant seedlings into. It’s hard work and with only an hour of light the going is slow. The asparagus bed is last on my list and excluding that I have 8 beds to create, each just over three meters long and 1m to 1.2m wide. I’ve done one and a half so far.

Much that I’ve read suggests that beds can be up to 1.5m wide, but whilst I’m not the smallest girl I still find tending a bed that size tough, so have opted for slimmer beds as a better option.

  
Getting there.

I have done a plan of what will grow where and will share it with you shortly.

2 thoughts on “Where did the week go??

Leave a Reply

