Tasty Ass Burgers and Sweet Spud Wedges

Its come to that time of year again; when I need a big pot of bolognese or soup or stew bubbling away as a constant, reassuring, warming presence. 

It’s Autumn. The changing colours make it official, and it’s been happening for some time now, but my little brain was too engrossed in surviving work to really notice it. Untill now. This week I have cooked up a storm of hearty, wholesome dishes. But amidst the soups, fresh pastas, stews and cooked breakfasts, one dish grabbed my taste buds, screaming for attention. Tasty Ass Burgers With All The Trimmings. Oh momma they were good! 

Did I mention that I made the recipe up entirely and had never made a burger before in my life?

Oh yeah…


On with the recipe.

I served my Tasty Ass Burgers with:

  • Balsamic Baby Kale (Covelo Nero)
  • Skinny Sweet Spuds
  • Avocado Slices
  • Goats Cheese and Tomato With Balsamic Glaze and Maldon Sea Salt
  • Baby Leaf Salad and Ketchup
  • Soft Wholemeal Buns that I couldn’t be bothered to make 

Today I’m posting the recipe for the burgers and spuds.

Spuds:

So easy that I’m vaguely embarrassed to call it a recipe.

Ingredients 

1 -2 Sweet Potatoes per person

A few spritzes of spray oil (I used a coconut blend spray from adds)

Salt (I used Maldons Sea Salt ‘cos I was feeling posh, but you can use any.)

Pepper and any spices of your choice to taste. (The burgers were so flavourful that I left my spuds naked – nought more than salt and pepper!)

Method:

Preheat your oven to 200 C.

Chop your spuds into skinny wedges and arrange them on a baking tray before giving a few spritzes of spray oil. (Alternatively you could just coat them in a drizzle of the oil of your choice.) 

Sprinkle with salt.

  
Stick them in the oven. Forget about them for half an hour or so, then panick and shout at -ask politely- The Boyfriend to remove the tray from the oven, flip the wedges, spritz with a little more oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper, and return to the oven till well coloured with a few blackened spots. (About 15 minutes)

  
Tada! Tasty wedges. Serve with ketchup (nom!) for dipping.

Tasty Ass Burgers:

Maaaaan, these were so tasty and delicious, especially when topped with home grown kale, a drizzle of balsamic glaze, a tomato circle and a slice of goats cheese. Heaven.

The burgers are perfectly freezer safe when raw and wrapped in cling film. I reckon they’ll be good in there for about 3 months.

This recipe made 6 fat burgers.

Ingredients:

750(ish) grams of minced beef (I think ours was 15% fat, but you can use any)

Half an Onion (I used white, feel free to use red) finely chopped

One Egg

A handful of breadcrumbs 

2-3 cloves of garlic finely minced

A pinch of dried Porcini mushrooms, rehydrated as per pack instructions and finely chopped (these adds umami yummyness; feel free to add more. I added only a liberal pinch as we can’t afford to buy these regularly, and a pinch really is plenty)

Half a teaspoon Maldon Sea Salt (or any salt, for that matter)

~ Quarter of a teaspoon ground pepper (to taste)

A fistful of marjoram, thyme and chives, finely chopped

Method:


Bung all of your ingredients into a large bowl.

  Please excuse the blurry pictures!

Now roll up your sleeves and get your hands into that mix! Give it a really good squidge with your hands, and sort of squidge and kneed untill it feels fairly consistent  in texture throughout. (Bar the odd chunk of onion)

 

Squidge!

Turn on your George Foreman grill thingy, whack a pan on the hobb over a high heat or stick the grill on. (I used the George foreman pressed thingy grill for mine).

Put a piece of cling film down on your work surface.

Divide the burger mix into 6 equal(ish) chunks, and shape each one into a patty, laying it on the cling film when done.

  
Grill your burgers. (Mine went into the George Foreman one at a time) for about 5 minutes or so, flipping half way, to get a blackened(ish – you don’t want a charcoal burger!) top and base, and a tender, juicy inside. 

If you can, let the burgers sit for five minutes to relax. (I popped mine on the bottom shelf of the oven, which was switched off but still warm from the spuds.) In the meantime you can prep your ‘trimmings’.

(I couldn’t resist a few fancy pants swizzles of balsamic glaze)

  

Serve and fill your boots! (Please do try these with kale, goats cheese and balsamic glaze, it’s fit!)

  
I hope you’re having a great week in your kitchens and your gardens.

  
GG, over and out xx

Leave a Reply

