Nature is amazing!

Picking runner beans, beetroot and leek with dad in his veg patch we stumbled upon this magnificent beauty!  

This is the Elephant Hawk Moth caterpillar; apparently common throughout England and Scotland, it’s a chunky monkey of a caterpillar! (UK Moths Website)

I’ve never seen one of these beauties before. I’m assuming the snake-like pattern is to deter predators. Either way, I almost wet myself with excitement when I saw it.
What have you spotted recently in the garden?

Leave a Reply

