Chasing My Tail

Helloo!

I am SO sorry I failed to post last weekend; it was manic! We had a planting, digging, buying frenzy closely followed by bad traffic on my way home which sadly resulted in no time for blogging before my head hit the pillow, wearily acknowledging that in six hours the alarm would be blaring out it’s overly cheerful tune and I’d have to be up and out for another caffeine driven week of non-stop action – most of which, when I finally sit down with a little time to think, was a dramatic display in chasing ones own tail. More of the same next week.

This feeling of dissatisfaction is merely highlighted by the memory of muddying my only smart work shoes (whoops!) digging into good, honest dirt, filling the hole with a fruiting bush and filling it in; standing back once the work was done and admiring the genuinely positive fruits (excuse the pun) of my labour. – In fairness, The Boyfriend did most of the digging, uprooting the existing border plants and replacing them with Rhubarb and Rasberries whilst I potted up the Broad Beans (now HUGE!) along with some Perpetual Spinach and Tom Thumb lettuce, for a cut-and-come again crop whilst we wait for the beans to reach maturity.

14.03.15 iphone 15314.03.15 iphone 162

14.03.15 iphone 16114.03.15 iphone 124

I was fairly convinced that the Physalis we planted a while ago had rotted as seeds; we’d cuddled them, watered them and given them heat and for two weeks the soil surface remained barren of life; so we did something I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to do. – We went digging. I could find nothing but dirt, and with a heavy heart was about to toss the pot down when I spied a tiny white stem – They LIVE! Quickly I re-covered the seeds and to my shock they still saw fit to welcome the world less than a week later with pinpricks of green. I’m delighted! I love Physalis, and to have such a high seedling germination rate is a fantastic confidence boost for The Boyfriend and myself. (hopefully at least some plants will make it to maturity as well. Fingers crossed.)

On the note of mature plants, I need help. desperately. Rufus, our Calamondin Lime/Orange is really quite ill. After a weekend spent left by accident in an unheated room he is very very sick. All his leaves shriveled and died and dropped at the slightest touch. In an attempt to resuscitate him I’ve repotted the poor lad with citrus compost and fed him with a summer citrus feed, but I don’t know if it’s too little too late 😦 If anyone has any advice on how to save Rufus I’d be really grateful! Please comment below, I’ve done an internet search and it seems that quite a few people struggle with citrus in the UK, but I’m determined not to give up on him. I WILL grow citrus!

14.03.15 iphone 123
Sad Rufus 😦

Additional updates to the Fourth Farthing of note – We’ve planted up a planter with five Strawberries,The Boyfriend started off his Oyster Mushroom Growing Kit, we bought a Chilli plant for the kitchen windowsill and begin sowing the Lettuce and Spinach as well as some Cayenne Pepper; fingers crossed for some yummy yummy results later on in the year! 🙂

14.03.15 iphone 16014.03.15 iphone 15314.03.15 iphone 15414.03.15 iphone 155 14.03.15 iphone 126

4 thoughts on “Chasing My Tail

Leave a Reply

